UKZN  Accommodation 2023-2024

By | February 28, 2023

UKZN  Accommodation 2023-2024

UKZN  Accommodation 2023-2024

UKZN  Accommodation 2023-2024
About the UKZN Accommodation 2023-2024
In the South African province of KwaZulu-Natal, there are five campuses for the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Following the union of the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville, it was established on January 1st, 2004.
CAMPUSES OF UKZN  Accommodation 2023-2024
The University of KwaZulu-Natal offers prospective students the choice of five campuses, each with its own distinctive character.
The campuses are Westville Campus (Main Campus), and Nelson. R. Mandela School of Medicine, Howard College Campus, Edgewood Campus, and Pietermaritzburg Campus
Edgewood Campus
There are residences available on the Edgewood campus. There are alternatives for catering and self-catering. On campus, 11 apartments can accommodate 631 students in total. Separate housing is provided for men and women, and the majority of residents are women. There are both double and single rooms available. Several homes include self-catering options. There are access control doors in every home. For graduate students, there are five more flats with five students each.
Howard College & Medical School
On-Campus Residences
Around 2162 students are housed in the university apartments for Howard College and the Medical School in Durban. While there is fierce competition for available positions, not every application can be accepted. Charles Smith Hall and Albert Luthuli Hall are the names of the two halls that house the residences. Twelve separate residences make up Charles Smith Hall, which is adjacent to the main academic buildings, banks, stores, and the Medical School. The Cluster Residence and the six-story Tower Residence make up Albert Luthuli Hall. This complex is located on the western edge of the Howard College campus, farthest from the academic buildings but near to the majority of the athletic facilities, including the Old Mutual Sports Center. Access control, lounges, television rooms, intercom systems, call boxes, and parking spaces are features found in every property. Single rooms are provided for all students. While a student cafeteria is accessible, all dorms are self-catering. Scully House and Postgraduate House only provide a small amount of housing for postgraduate students.
Off-Campus Residences
Mixed Gender Residence – St Hillier
Two- and three-bedroom apartments are available in Saint. Hillier. Every student has their own room. Residents share a living room, kitchen, and restroom. There is parking and a laundry facility. A short distance from the Medical School campus, St. Hillier is located in Umbilo across from Queensmead Shopping Center. It is near a bus route that goes to Howard College.
J V Smit Residence
This residence has 90 large single rooms with entertainment and study rooms as well as tennis courts. It is a catering residence. Laundry and parking facilities are available. J V Smit is close to the Medical School campus and is situated on a bus route to the Howard College campus and the city.
Approximately 1 640 students are accommodated in residences. About a third of the students registered to stay in one of the four halls of residence. The Student Housing helpdesk can be contacted for assistance with off-campus accommodation.
Petrie Hall Of Residence
Petrie Hall Of Residence
Petrie Hall is a cluster of residences for mainly first and second-year female students. The three large residences are Eleanor Russell Hall, University Hall, and Lodge and are situated close to the Science Block, Administration, Student Services, the library and tennis courts, shops, Post Office, and banks. A student committee ensures the smooth running of student life in all residences.

William O’Brien Hall Of Residence

Situated on the main campus, William O’Brien residence (men) consists of single rooms distributed over six blocks, with communal kitchens. Extra-mural activities are well catered for via the residence sports programme, senior and junior lounges, a large communal games room, and a visitor’s reception lounge. Additional facilities include a braai area, car repair and wash bays and secure parking for all resident’s cars.

Malherbe Hall Of Residence

On Durban Road, directly across from the university gate, lies the Malherbe Residence (for men and women). The common areas and TV lounge are shared, however the sleeping quarters for men and women are separate. The house has a quadrangle with trees, bushes, and a lawn where students can relax or play ball games. A braai area is also there. The Students’ Union, the Science Building, the Old Arts Block, stores, banks, and the Post Office may all be reached on foot from here. But, the New Arts Block, the Business, Law, Agricultural, or Life Sciences Blocks may all be reached on foot in 10 minutes. The Brucian House and Robleigh House are the names of the Malherbe Flats (for postgraduate students). These flats, which include three, four, or five bedrooms, are ideal for small groups of students looking to share housing. The use of separate rooms may not be shared. Generally speaking, rooms are furnished and self-catering. There are several lock-up garages for rent.

Denison Hall Of Residence

Denison (men and women) is located on the former golf course area of campus, in a tranquil park-like setting. Denison has a clubhouse with a huge community room and the Denison bar as well as its own cooking complex. The apartment building has a gym, TV, snooker, and table tennis areas.




The Westville campus provides a variety of lodging options, including off-campus apartments with self-catering capabilities and on-campus housing where meals are available upon request.

On-Campus Residences  

There are 1810 student beds available in the on-campus housing. While there is fierce competition for available positions, not every application can be accepted. S-Block, R-Block, P-Block, and O-Block are the four residential blocks. Only O-Block, which is mixed gender, has room for women. There are parking spaces, television rooms, and access control in every house. While there is still a dining facility at O-Block, all units are self-catering.

Off-Campus Residences 

Numerous students are housed in off-campus housing. It is impossible to accept all applications due to the intense competition. These homes are completely furnished. While postgraduate students can be accommodated in a single room if one is available, all students share double rooms. Guests share a bathroom and kitchen. San Sabil and the Residence of Bedford Hall are located on the town’s Hospital Road. Varsity Drive is home to Dunstaple Heights, whereas Reservoir Hills is the only location for postgraduate students to access Santa Cruz.


Admission to Residences 


Local first-year applicants must submit an application through the Central Admissions Office in order to be admitted to university housing (CAO). There is no need for a separate application. It isn’t usually possible to place a student in their first-choice residence.

Application for housing at the University of KwaZulu-Natal is required from international students.

The deadline for undergraduate applicants to submit their applications is 30 June for medical schools and 30 September for all other undergraduate programs.



How to Apply to UKZN online

UKZN  Online application fee
UKZN  Online admission requirements
UKZN  Application form

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *